Great Communicators Tournament 2016

Great Communicators Tournament Results

First Place: Benjamin Klutsey

fullsizerender-1Great Communicators Tournament Winner Ben Klutsey with
TFM Chairman John Tillman and President Eric Tubbs

Second Place: Charles Blatz

Third Place: Jim Pagels

The three finalists: Ben Klutsey, Charles Blatz and Jim Pagels

The 2016 Great Communicators Tournament once again kicked off with an online contest, where contestants submitted short videos making arguments that met our requirements. The videos were posted to our website, our staff and judges deliberated and a group of semi-finalists were identified. These semi-finalists were brought together for several rounds of in-person competition in Washington, DC and the winners of these semi-final rounds advanced to the final round of competition, held at the DC Improv on October 26, 2016. In the final round, the final three contestants, Ben Klutsey, Jim Pagels, and Charles Blatz were judged by our all-star judging panel, made up of Guy Benson, Mollie Hemingway, and Beverly Hallberg, as they gave prepared speeches and answered questions on the fly. The judging panel deliberated and identified Ben Klutsey as the 2016 Great Communicator.

Meet our semifinalists:

Contestants are asked to make an emotionally compelling moral argument that takes the free market or pro-liberty position on a current public policy issue. As the contestants formulate their arguments, we ask that they:

  • take the moral high ground
  • be hopeful and aspirational
  • address the issue of fairness or inequality
  • put the other side on the defense
  • communicate the value of freedom and increase the audience’s demand for it
  • use storytelling to make their case


$10,000 First Place
$5,000 Second Place
$2,500 Third Place